Your DJ, in the mix

Bonus beats

Who is this doin’ this synthetic type o’ alpha beta psychedelic funkin’?
Elektrobank by The Chemical Brothers

Live on Simple & Slide's 5 Years of Boat Parties

A DJ set recorded live in August 2010 on a boat party floating down the River Thames in Oxford

Order a CD

The sun shone!  To remark about the weather seems like such a trite way to write about an outdoor event but it can affect the mood of the party, and to a certain extent, my mood as a DJ.  It can also set the tone of a blog post as we plunge into the depths of, dare I say it, winter.  We were very lucky to have the afternoon and evening on the good side of the morning's rain.  Thank goodness the sun shone!

Now, I have a confession, dear reader.  I have a hangover.  It's a non-alcoholic non-psychotropic hangover.  The first thing regular listeners will notice about this mix is the absence of anything like a wobbly bassline.  I've got a kind of electro fidget fatigue; the genre just keeps trying to out-big itself.  Same thing happened with Speed Garage last decade, and I fear the same will happen with Dubstep soon.  I'll still continue to play what I think sounds/feels good, but I'm just wary of commercial influences.

This mix goes back to what I love: the groove, the jack.  If you've come to expect Fidget House from me, don't let that put you off; it's still paced with enough heavy beats and bass to make you screw up your face.  The boat party is always an opportunity to breakaway from any kind of pigeon-holing because there's a captive audience.  Although I suppose you could always jump over-board!  Besides, I had the connoisseur of the wobbly bassline, Lee Mortimer, playing straight after me, so it didn't make sense to be playing similar.  He smashed it, natch.  I think I did alright too (..?)

To top off twelve hours of partying, I played an impromptu back-to-back set with Angie Walter for the after party at Baby Simple on Cowley Road.  Musically, on a similar vein, just more Tech House.  Unfortunately not for download though; some things are recorded only by our memories.  Kinda like retelling a joke, but ending off with, 'you had to be there.'

This mix was recorded live on 29th August 2010 on a boat party floating down the River Thames in Oxford for Simple & Slide, in association with Out to Graze, and features productions/remixes from Lovebirds, Round Table Knights, Robert Boogert, Mark Knight, TJR and Santiago & Bushido, as well as classics from Steve Mac, The Prodigy and Claude VonStroke... Scroll down for tracklist.

Player artwork: photo (and cake!) by Katie Napper.  Photography by Claire Williams.

Track list

Buy and/or download tracks featured in this mix

  • 000:00 Chez Damier, Chris Carrier & Jef K feat. Nouha Matlouni - In My System (Adult Only) download
  • 006:01 Lovebirds - Alright (Freerange) download
  • 011:24 Cochise - Awesome (Beachtown) download
  • 016:08 Steve Mac vs. Mosquito feat. Steve Smith - Lovin' You More (That Big Track) [Solid Groove remix] (Hussle)
  • 022:04 Round Table Knights - Stomper (Made To Play) download
  • 024:09 Round Table Knights - Short Cut To The Top (Made To Play) download
  • 029:35 Kraak & Smaak - Sterke Verhalen [Robert Boogert's slap gelul remix] () download
  • 033:44 Jason Jinx feat. Paul Alexander - Your First Time [original push mix] (Fluential) download
  • 039:30 Mark Knight - Devil Walking (Toolroom) download
  • 044:53 The Prodigy - No Good (Start The Dance) [Da Fresh boot] ()
  • 051:06 TJR - Baby Got Jacked [vocalized] (Potty Mouth) download
  • 055:37 Andy Caldwell - Warrior [Claude VonStroke sharp toof mix] (Om) download
  • 061:13 Santiago & Bushido - All That I Can Say (Potty Mouth)

Disclaimer: free dj mix downloads on this site are strictly for educational use in order to audition James’s technical ability, style and selection as a specialist underground House Music Disc Jockey.  The files on offer are not meant as a distribution of copyrighted works and are presented in such a way that individual tracks cannot be extracted.  Track lists here serve to credit and promote the featured artists’ work, and encourage the legal purchase of individual tracks.