Your DJ, in the mix

Bonus beats

Who is this doin’ this synthetic type o’ alpha beta psychedelic funkin’?
Elektrobank by The Chemical Brothers

Live at The Simple Weekender

A DJ set recorded live in August 2014 for Simple in a meadow near Thame

On a Friday in August.  At 1am.  In a meadow.  Bashing them out!  Thanks, Nick, Tom.  Thank you, party people of The Simple Weekender.

This one builds to bring in some tough tech tracks, dipping slightly midway with a sprinkling of acid and then teching it back up.  126BPM, rough & ready (probably should have had fewer beers!), with crowd ambience mixed in.

This was The Simple Weekender's second year and by all accounts a great success with everyone.  It's an intimate, stripped, back-to-basics festival.  No fuss, no sponsors; preferring to focus on local music and local party-goers.  I love it, and long may it continue.  I was asked to play 1-2am on the main stage (The Dome) on Friday night, a privilege I'm very grateful for, and this is the result.  Enjoy x

Share this on: , or Google+.

Track list

Buy and/or download tracks featured in this mix

  • 000:00 Da Posse - In The Heat Of The Night [Jimpster stretchdit] (Freerange) download
  • 003:59 Nolan - Inside [Telonius remix] (Sex Panda White) download
  • 007:33 Cozzy D - 4D [Trikk re-dub] (Lower East) download
  • 011:52 Mr. Gasparov - Ground (Dissipate) download
  • 016:18 Waze & Odyssey - Everything (You're Made Of) (W&O Street Tracks) download
  • 019:51 Taras Van De Voorde - Chasing Autumns (Suara) download
  • 024:56 Chesus - Decisions (4lux Black) download
  • 030:16 Jetloud & Artem Rubtsov - ICQ [Cave Sedem remix] (Dextrous Deep) download
  • 035:55 The Subs feat. Colonel Abrams - Trapped [Ashworth remix] (Lektroluv) download
  • 040:29 Nicholas - The Music Lives [bonus beats one] (Home Taping Is Killing Music) download
  • 042:31 Cristoph - Guffaz (DFTD) download
  • 048:52 Nathan Barato - Back Up Queen (Rekids) download
  • 053:03 Nikola Gala - Get Your Soul Back (Metropolitan) download
  • 059:17 Pezzner - I Don't Mind (Systematic) download

Disclaimer: free dj mix downloads on this site are strictly for educational use in order to audition James’s technical ability, style and selection as a specialist underground House Music Disc Jockey.  The files on offer are not meant as a distribution of copyrighted works and are presented in such a way that individual tracks cannot be extracted.  Track lists here serve to credit and promote the featured artists’ work, and encourage the legal purchase of individual tracks.